Five Chenango County Wrestlers Crowned Section IV Division-II Champions

By: Meagan Schulz

Five Chenango County wrestlers crowned Section IV Division-II Champions Keith Lanfear Photo

All earn spots at New York State Wrestling Championships

WINDSOR – After claiming the Section IV Division-II title Saturday evening, five Chenango County wrestlers earned a trip to Albany to vie for the New York State Wrestling Championship.

Winning for the second straight year were Norwich’s Dante Geislinger and Mikey Squires along with Bainbridge-Guilford-Afton-Harpursville’s Shane Hoover.

BGAH’s Brody Oleksak and Joey Florence will be joining, winning their first Section IV championships of their careers.

Oleksak was considered to be the upset of the finals round as he defeated Tioga’s John Worthing in the 138 pound final.

Worthing, the top seed of the weight class bracket, and Oleksak have faced each other twice this season. Both time, the Tioga wrestler won with scores of 5-1 and 5-0. Avenging the two losses where it matteed was Oleskak.

The six minutes of regulation mat time went scoreless for the two, forcing overtime to decide the winner. Oleksak landed the tilt on Worthing, putting him on his back to earn a 3-0 victory and the automatic bid to the New York State Championships. Oleskak has been to the big stage before but was selected as a wildcard to attend.

His teammate Joey Florence is in his first season. The Eighth-grader pinned Owego’s Matt Laubuch in the semifinals, reaching the championship round to face a Tioga wrestler like his BGAH counterpart.

Florence landed a takedown a minute into the finals match, taking Gianni Silvestri of the Tigers down to the mat. From there, Florence rode out the next five minutes of the bout to win with a 2-0 decision.

Like he did a season ago, the Bears Shane Hoover entered the Section IV championships with an undefeated record. And like last season, he will head to Albany with the a perfect season record with four match wins in this year’s Division-II finals.

Hoover faced Chenango Valley’s Brady Hope in the finals Saturday, a rematch from the Class B Championships a week earlier.

Earning three takedowns through out the match, Hoover allowed Hope to score just one point as he claimed the 7-1 decision win to return to Albany.

Also returning to Albany following their win is 2018 New York State Champion at 99 pounds, Dante Geislinger of the Purple Tornado.

Now at 106 pounds, Geislinger started the finals match off against Windsor’s Troy Hayes with a five point move within the first 30 seconds of the bout. The Norwich Sophomore immediately took down Hayes and put him on his back for a near fall count to score the early.

From there, Geislinger added another six in the match to earn an 11-2 major over Hayes and chance to win another state championship.

Another rematch on the mat from the week prior was the 152 pound match between Norwich’s Squires and Groton’s Reese Lockwood.

After winning a week ago in the class finals with a score of 10-5, Squires won a slightly closer match taking a 6-2 decision.

Squires led at the end of the second period 5-0 as he landed a takedown on Lockwood right before the buzzer sounded. He added an escape in the third, earning the four-point win.

The Purple Tornado’s Nick Glanville reached the 120 pound finals match after pinning Maine-Endwell’s Payton Bennett in the semifinals.

On the other side of the bracket was Walton/Delhi’s Caleb Robinson, who earned his 199th win in the semifinals.

In the championship, the two battled it out until the second period where Robinson caught Glanville and pinned him at 3:11 to earn his 200th career victory.

Glanville, a Norwich senior, could earn a wildcard into the state tournament as he finished second. He will have to wait until Wednesday to find out if he earn the at-large bid.

In the same boat as Glanville are Greene/Oxford’s Noah Kennedy and BGAH’s Austin Eggleston.

Kennedy went up against Spencer-Van Etten/Candor’s Dell Davis in the finals. Kennedy, who defeated Davis twice already this season, went into the 195 pound match as the heavy favorite.

In the second period with the score at 0-0, Davis took a shot straight on and took the Greene/Oxford wrestler straight to his back. In the perfect position to pin Kennedy, Davis did so just 11 seconds into the second.

Eggleston, also favored to win at 170 pounds, fell short as Cam Bundy of Owego controlled the match from the start. Bundy went up 4-0 on Eggleston by the end of the first period but the BGAH wrestler scored the reversal, cutting the lead down to two points.

Egglston started on top in the third, hoping to earn back points for the win but Bundy was able to get out. As the two stood neutral, Eggleston attempted a shot with a minute remaining.

Bundy was able to counter the shot, taking down Eggleston to extend his lead. Bundy went on to win 9-2.

Norwich also saw five others stand on the podium at the end of the day. Andrew Brown and Tyler Rice both placed fourth in the tournament while Mason Edwards and Dakota Powers finished fifth. Max Morris added a sixth place finish for the Purple Tornado, who brought home a third place finish as a team.

BGAH took fourth overall and also had Jose Bivar and Hyden Lewis place. Bivar secured fourth place while Lewis took fifth.

Greene/Oxford’s Brady Smith came away with a fifth place finish while Owen Marcin and Kaden Wakefield both placed in the 99 pound bracket. Marcin took third placed while Wakefield finished fifth.

All 15 winners from Saturday will represent Section IV at the New York State Division-II championship meet, held at the Times Union Center on February 22 and 23.

The second and third place winners will wait for the wildcard bid to be announced on Wednesday.

Section IV Division-II Wrestling Championships

Team scores: Tioga 218, Windsor 162.5, Norwich 158.5, Bainbridge-Guilford/Afton/Harpursville 140.5, Walton/Delhi 111, Owego 106.5, Spencer-Van Etten/Candor 86.5, Chenango Valley 74, Newark Valley 72, Oneonta 69, Waverly 68, Greene/Oxford 59, Dryden 59, Susquehanna Valley 56.5, Groton 50, Sidney 50, Odessa-Montour/Watkins Glen 48, Whitney Point 43.5, Maine-Endwell 30.5, Unatego/Unadilla Valley 29, Thomas A. Edison 29, Moravia 26, Deposit-Hancock 22, Marathon 7, Southern Cayuga 3.



pennysaver logo
Shop4Autos logo
greatgetaways logo
Official Evening Sun Facebook Official Evening Sun Twitter