MAC Girls All-Stars Announced For 2018-2019 Season

By: Meagan Schulz

MAC Girls All-Stars announced for 2018-2019 season Pete Mansheffer Photo

Selfridge earns third MVP honors

The Midstate Athletic Conference coaches selected the first, second and honorable mention All-Stars for the 2018-2019 girls basketball season. The coordinator of the league, Greene’s head coach Dave Gorton announced the teams in late February.

Abi Selfridge of the Bainbridge-Guilford Bobcats was selected at the conference’s Most Valuable Player. This is Selfridge’s third season named as the MVP of the league. She has won the honors three out of the last four years.

Delhi received the most selections for the three teams with five while Oxford, Walton and Unatego each had four players honored.

Bainbridge-Guilford had a player selected to the first, second and honorable mention teams as well.

The Walton Warriors head coach Gary Backus was awarded coach of the year for the conference. Backus led the Lady Warriors to a 13-7 overall record. Of those 13 wins, several were upsets during the league’s regular season. 

Both the Lady Blackhawks and the Lady Trojans were honored this year’s team sportsmanship award. 

The selections for each team are listed as follows:

First Team: Anna Post (Delhi), Laycee Drake (Deposit/Hancock), Olivia Harby (Walton), Meghan Perry (Unatego), Hali Lucia (Unatego), McKenna Sergi (Greene), Emma Smith (Greene), McKenzie Clough (Walton), Macie Leizear (Bainbridge-Guilford).

Second Team: Erica Selfridge (Bainbridge-Guilford), Shelby Meade (Unadilla Valley), Morgan Perry (Unatego), Caitlyn Quiqley (Oxford), Madalyn Barrows (Oxford), Savannah Baldwin (Sidney), Kyleigh George (UV).

Honorable Mention: Kori Thornton (Bainbridge-Guilford), Sophia Wakin (Delhi), Sylvia Liddle (Delhi), Raegan Bracchy (Delhi), Aileen Nealis (Delhi), Kirsten White (Unadilla Valley), Carissa Crandall (Walton), Jordynn Palmatier (Walton), Kelsey Young (Deposit/Hancock), Kristen McNamara (Deposit/Hancock), Karley Miller (Oxford), Ellie Ryan (Oxford), Casey East (Afton), McKenzie Robertson (Harpursville), Vanessa Groover (Harpursville), MJ Kappauf (Harpursville), Dana Stepp (Unatego).

– Meagan Schulz, Sun Sports Editor


pennysaver logo
Shop4Autos logo
greatgetaways logo
Official Evening Sun Facebook Official Evening Sun Twitter